National Awards to 104th Fighter Wing Members at 42nd Annual Awards Ceremony

  • Published
104th Fighter Wing at Barnes Air National Guard Base hosted its 42nd Annual Awards Ceremony at the Springfield Sheraton, January 9, recognizing the top members of the approximately 1,400 member Wing, with four members of the Security Forces Squadron recognized nationally.

Over 400 Airmen and their families attended the event to recognize and celebrate some of the finest Airmen in both the Wing and the nation. 

Awards are presented to the highest achieving members from the entire wing after competing against their peers within their flights, squadrons and groups.  The wing winners will compete for state recognition, and will contend at the national level against the winners from the active duty, Reserve and other National Guard units.

The 2015 Air National Guard Security Forces Annual individual awards recognize the outstanding achievements of individual security forces Airmen across the Air National Guard who stood out among their peers by demonstrating the highest levels of performance.

This year's Wing winners are:
  • Staff Sgt. Jennifer Tittle, Information Assurance Medallion Award
  • Master Sgt. Frederick Fopiano, Major General George W. Keefe Award for "Enlisted Excellence"
  • Master Sgt. William Craig, First Sergeant of the Year
  • Mrs. Christine B. Bassett, Civilian of the Year
  • Senior Airman Shane T. Coakley, Airman of the Year
  • Sgt. Mark A. Giromini, Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year
  • Chief Master Sgt. Anthony F. Swana, Senior Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year
  • Staff Sgt. Mary Keeler, Active Guard Reserve (AGR)/Technician of the Year
  • Capt. Katie Gauvin, Company Grade Officer of the Year

The Air National Guard Security Forces Annual individual award winners are:
  • Senior Airman Shane T. Coakley, Outstanding Flight-level Airman Award
  • Staff Sgt. Steven Vigneault, Outstanding Flight-level Non-Commissioned Officer Award
  • Master Sgt. Casey B. Walsh, Outstanding Senior Non-Commissioned Officer Award
  • Officer Christopher J. Krutka, Outstanding Air Reserve Component Security Forces Civilian Award
  • Master Sgt. Steven D. Jeffers, Outstanding Security Forces Higher Headquarters Staff Non-Commissioned Officer Award , NGB/A7S, Joint Base Andrews, MD (former member of the 104th Fighter Wing)