Annual Award Program and CCAF Graduation

  • Published
  • By Staff Sgt. Jerome White, Public Affairs
  • 104 Fighter Wing
On December 6th the 104th Fighter Wing held its 35th annual awards ceremony to honor members of the unit who have gone above and beyond the call of duty. While recognizing members who did their military jobs superbly, it also honored many individuals who stood out in other ways; such as those who opened up their hearts through volunteer activities, exemplified the Wingman attitude by looking out for their peers, or took a step towards self improvement by finishing their Community College of the Air Force degrees. 

After a phenomenal drill performance by the base honor guard the ceremony began by honoring the following people who finished their Associates of Applied Sciences degrees this year through the CCAF: Master Sergeants Defranco, Martinath, and Wallace; Technical Sergeants Acker, Kushin, Linton, O'Fallon, and Turnberg; and Staff Sergeants Bigelow, Harbachuck, Melvin, and Rivera.

The ceremony was then blessed with a speech by the Adjutant General of the Massachusetts National Guard, Major General Joseph Carter, and the unit's members were reminded of the vital role that every member plays in supporting the mission of air superiority. The unit commander, Col. Brooks, also pointed out that it is units such as the 104th that have ensured out military members have not had to worry about unfriendly skies since World War II.

After the Adjutant General's speech the unit was entertained by a video highlighting many memorable moments throughout the year and then each section of the Wing got to recognize their outstanding members. The ceremony concluded with the presentation of the overall wing awards and on behalf of the entire Fighter Wing I would like to offer hearty congratulations to the winners of the following awards:

Volunteer Appreciation - Alannah Santucci, Kara Smith, Sean Conners, Harlow Pomeroy, and Don Prior;
Paul E. Myrick Information Assurance Professionals of the Year - Tech. Sergeants Scobie and Lucas;
Honor Guard Airman and NCO of the Year - Staff Sergeant Nugent and Master Sergeant Oleksak;
Crew Chief of the Year - Master Sergeant Baillargeon;
Assistant Crew Chief of the Year - Staff Sergeant Harbachuck;
Safety Award of the Year - Technical Sergeant Vayda;
Major General George W. Keefe Award - Senior Master Sergeant Delaney;
First Sergeant of the Year - Master Sergeant Canedy;
Airmen of the Year - Airman 1st Class Hammond;
NCO and Senior NCO of the Year - Tech Sergeant O'Fallon and Senior Master Sergeant Delaney;
AGR/Technician of the Year - Master Sergeant Huard;
Civilian of the Year - Mr. John Richardson;
Junior Officer of the Year - Captain Mutti;
The Massachusetts Air National Guard Recruiting Supervisor of the Year - Master Sergeant Shilaikis;
The Massachusetts Air National Guard Production Recruiter of the Year - Master Sergeant Smith.
Air National Guard Finance Airman of the Year--Airman Neisha Nixon
Air National Guard Finance Superintendent of the Year--Senior Master Sgt. Joseph Delaney